24 Feb 2021
by Leontina Postelnicu

NHSX launches Digital Technology Assessment Criteria

NHSX has launched this week the Digital Technology Assessment Criteria (DTAC), setting the national baseline for digital technology used in the NHS and social care.

The DTAC is divided into five core areas, with the first four being assessed and a separate conformity rating on usability and accessibility:

  • Clinical safety
  • Data protection
  • Technical assurance
  • Interoperability
  • Usability and accessibility.

The DTAC was officially launched in beta in October last year. Over the past four months, NHSX has engaged with over 800 stakeholders to receive feedback from industry and from buyers and refine the criteria. Version 1 includes more information on what constitutes a pass or fail for the sections being assessed, further detail on clinical safety, and sees the removal of IS0:27001 to support early-stage innovators.

Industry will be informed of any changes to the DTAC through the NHSX Digital Transformation Bulletin, which you can sign up for here.  

Members that would like to provide feedback should contact our Health and Social Care team: [email protected]; [email protected].

Related topics


Leontina Postelnicu

Leontina Postelnicu

Programme Manager, Health and Social Care

Leontina joined techUK in March 2020, where she is supporting the organisation’s Health and Social Care programme. At the moment, she is completing an MSc in Health Policy at Imperial College London.

A former journalist, Leontina previously worked for the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) as an associate editor for its International and Media divisions. There, she covered the EMEA region for Healthcare IT News, MobiHealthNews and HIMSS TV, with a focus on policy and innovation, and contributed to the Women in Health IT newsletter and HIMSS Insights eBook.

Outside of work, she enjoys reading, dancing, travelling and visiting her family in Romania, where she hails from.

Read lessmore