Recognition for tech in the New Year Honours list

As we enter a new year, and a new decade, what is certain is that 2020 is sure to be another hugely exciting year for tech. We hope you had an enjoyable and restful holiday period!

The winter break saw the announcement of the Queen’s New Year Honour list and, once more, some much deserved recognition for several of our members and friends from across the industry for their outstanding service to the UK’s society and economy.

techUK would like to offer a huge congratulations to all of those whose contributions were acknowledged in this years’ list, especially those for their work in the tech and digital sector.

Our members were well-represented amongst this years’ cohort. Caroline Hargrove, CTO at Babylon Health, was awarded a CBE for her service to Engineering, and Christine Hodgson, Chair of Capgemini UK, received the same honour for her work pertaining to Education. We also saw Sheila Favell, COO at FDM Group, and Andrew Wylie, Co-Founder of Sage, receive CBEs for services to Gender Equality in IT and Graduate and Returners Employment and services to Business and Charity respectively. For her longstanding service to the Telecommunications Industry, Kim Mears of Openreach was the recipient of an OBE.

A number of industry colleagues with whom we have worked closely were also recognised in this years’ honours. We were delighted to see Rachel Coldicutt, formerly CEO of Doteveryone, acknowledged with an OBE for her service to the Digital Society. techUK would like to wish Rachel the very best with her future endeavours after stepping down from Doteveryone in November last year. For his service to the IT Sector and British Space, Andrew Green, Chair of Digital Catapult and the Space Sector Council was awarded a CBE, whilst Hayaatun Sillem, Chief Executive of the Royal Academy of Engineering, received the same honour for services to International Engineering.

Also recognised in this years’ list, Dr Bill Mitchell, Director of Policy at BCS, was bestowed an OBE for his excellent contribution to Computing and AI Education; a crucial area of consideration for the sector at present. Timothy Robinson, NED at the DfID, was awarded a CBE for his service to Digital Technology, whilst John Manzoni, Chief Executive of the Civil Service, and Sharon White, formerly Chief Executive of Ofcom, were awarded a Knighthood and Damehood respectively for their dedicated public service.

techUK is incredibly pleased to see the hard work of its members recognised in this years’ honours list and is proud to work alongside so many esteemed professionals from across industry and government. We look forward to continuing this work into the new year and making 2020 another successful and prosperous year for the industry.

  • Jake Wall

    Jake Wall

    Programme Assistant | Policy and Cloud, Data, Analytics & AI Programmes
    T 020 7331 2049
  • Harri Turnbull

    Harri Turnbull

    Communications Manager
    T 020 7331 2011

Share this


Delighted to have @AndyBurnhamGM join us for the North West Digital Dialogue exploring the digital strengths and we…
techUK's Local Public Services Committee launches 'frustrated innovator' initiative for local government
On Day 1 of the #techUKSmarterState @advanced hosted a panel looking at the opportunity to capture, share, collabor…
We had a great panel today at #techUKSmarterState, powered by @Wipro, looking at remote governance with citizen exp…
Become a Member

Become a techUK Member

By becoming a techUK member we will help you grow through:

Click here to learn more...