

## All-Party Parliamentary Group for Broadband and Digital Communication Meeting Minutes: AGM; election of officers 12/05/2021

### **Opening**

The meeting of the APPG for Broadband and Digital Communication was called to order at 09:00 on 12 May 2021 by Selaine Saxby MP. The AGM was quorate to proceed.

### **Election of chair and officers**

- APPG members held a vote, and the Chair (Selaine Saxby MP) was re-elected, along with all existing officers. Darren Henry MP was elected as a new Officer of the Group.
- The full list of Officers will be circulated in the next Register of All-Party Parliamentary Groups, which is published every 6 weeks or so.

#### Other comments

- The Chair announced that the APPG will hold an inquiry into the Electronic Communications Code (the 'Code'). The Terms of Reference will be finalised this week (by Friday 14 May) for submission to the Digital Minister Matt Warman.
- Sally-Ann Hart MP raised an issue with the Gigabit Broadband Voucher Scheme and the re-categorisation of rural areas (now urban). This issue will be raised with the Minister
- Darren Henry requested a more interactive session of the APPG.
  - Action: Chair and secretariat to discuss next steps
- The next public APPG event will take place on Wednesday 19 May, 14:00-15:00, on the Levelling up agenda.

Please follow the APPG on Twitter here: <a href="https://twitter.com/AppgDigicomms">https://twitter.com/AppgDigicomms</a>. Meeting was adjourned at 09:10 by Selaine Saxby MP.



# **Attendees**

MP for North Devon (Chair)
MP for Runnymede and Weybridge
MP for Loughborough (Officer)
MP for Sunderland Central (Officer)
MP for Broadland (Officer)
MP for East Ham (Officer)
MP for Broxtowe (Officer)
MP for Hastings and Rye
MP for Meon Valley (Officer)
MP for Truro and Falmouth (Officer)
MP for Bridgwater and West Somerset (Officer)
MP for Buckingham (Officer)
techUK (Secretariat)
techUK (Secretariat)
techUK (Secretariat)
Selaine Saxby MP's Office
Selaine Saxby MP's Office
Flick Drummond MP's Office