

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Broadband and Digital Communication Meeting Minutes: Gigabit rollout update 10/02/2021

Opening

The meeting of the APPG for Broadband and Digital Communication was called to order at 14:00 on 10/02/2021 by Selaine Saxby MP. Selaine welcomed the new secretariat techUK, and our speakers for today's event: gigabit rollout update.

Industry speakers

- Catherine Colloms, Openreach: view from largest fibre builder in the UK that industry needs additional help with deployment from government (access to properties; business rates relief), and an environment that encourages investment.
- Alex Blowers, CityFibre: view that the investment case is also gated by the regulatory framework (conclusion of <u>Ofcom WFTMR</u>), which needs to closely align with government target. Raised the issue of increasing digital divide in urban, as well as rural, areas through issues with landlords and access.
- Daniel Butler, Hyperoptic: view from urban gigabit operator that significant barriers remain to deployment, though it is welcome that government recognises and is looking to resolve issues such as engagement with local authorities and social landlords.
- Ed Leighton, Ofcom: Outlined how the regulator had shifted position to help promote competition. The regulatory framework (WFTMR) will adopt a tailored approach for rural areas (not commercial). Also, Ofcom focused on how to boost take-up of gigabit services by consumers.

Q&A and open issues

- Digital exclusion and increasing access to gigabit:
 - DCMS is consulting on changes to the <u>Electronic Communications Code</u> ("ECC");
 - The <u>Telecommunications Infrastructure (Leasehold Property) Bill</u> ("TILP") returns to House of Commons on 24/02/2021;
 - Industry working with housebuilders to ensure fibre connections in new build developments
- Clarity for consumers:
 - Ofcom has recently announced <u>new plans for switching</u> ('OneTouch') to help consumers;
 - Industry, government and Ofcom working together to raise awareness and increase understanding of what's available, and boost take up (<u>GigaTAG</u>)
- Transparency:
 - Darren Henry requested a map of the planned rollout of full-fibre in Broxtowe, Nottingham;
 - Openreach voluntarily publishes its build plans 2-3 years in advance, though due to complexity, rollout is determined on a case-by-case basis — For any casework or local issues, you can contact Openreach on parliamentary.help@openreach.co.uk;



 On what areas are designated urban or rural, some rules are determined by DCMS, Ofcom's tailored approach, and industry on what is commercial. Sharing of credible build plans by industry was encouraged.

Adjournment

Please follow the APPG on Twitter here: <u>https://twitter.com/AppgDigicomms</u>. Meeting was adjourned at 15:00 by Selaine Saxby MP. The next meeting is at 14:00 on 16/03.2021 on Zoom and will feature industry speakers (TBC) on 5G rollout.



Attendees Name	Company
Matt Evans	techUK
Sophie James	techUK
Julia Ofori-Addo	techUK
Alex Blowers	CityFibre
Lily Alimi	Tories
Andrew Lambert	Electronic Media Services Ltd
Andy Marr (REG)	CGI
Antony Walker	techUK
Arthur Virgo	
Catherine Colloms	- Ononroach
Stuart B. Crow	Openreach
Joanna Dabrowska	- PwC
Daniel Butler	Hyperoptic Limited
Graeme Dolphin	
Dr Amanda Foley (Jo)	-
Ed Leighton	Ofcom
Edward Bayfield	
Emma Shearer	CityFibre
Adam Gibbor	-
GTV Docs	-
Harry Ford	Exponential-e Ltd
Henrietta Freeman Owen	Selaine Saxby's Offoce
Darren Henry	MP
Simon Hoey (REG)	Intelsat Global Sales and Marketing Ltd
Jo Swarbrick (REG)	CityFibre
John Larkin	The Kenton Group Ltd
John Okas	Real Wireless
Jonathan Finney	•
Les Burns	The Kenton Group
Martyn Lee	Sky
Martyn Page (REG	Aculab plc
Nigel Phillips (REG	MLL Telecom Ltd
office of Owen Thompson MP	MP
Oliver Wilkinson	-
Piers Thompson (REG)	Huawei
Rod Parker (REG)	Analysys Mason Limited
Ross Playle	Deputy Chair of Witham constituency
	Conservatives & Witham Northern
Ryan Pratt	-
Sally-Ann Hart	MP
Sandy Tanner	-
Sarah Lee	-
Selaine Saxby, Chair	MP



Sean Houlston	-
Simon Baynes MP	MP
Simon Whelband	-
Stephen Timms	HoC
Tom Thatcher	Ofcom
William Haslam	-